The Bongaloo by Spike Milligan

‘What is a Bongaloo, Daddy?’

‘A Bongaloo, Son,’ said I,

‘Is a tall bag of cheese

Plus a Chinaman’s knees

And the leg of a nanny goat’s eye’.

‘How strange is a Bongaloo, Daddy?’

‘As strange as strange,’ I replied.

‘When the sun’s in the West

It appears in a vest

Sailing out with the noonday tide.’

‘What shape is a Bongaloo, Daddy?’

‘The shape, my Son, I’ll explain:

It’s tall round the nose

Which continually grows

In the general direction of Spain’.

‘Are you sure there’s a Bongaloo, Daddy?’

‘Am I sure, my Son?’ said I.

‘Why, I’ve seen it not quite

On a dark sunny night

Do you think that I’d tell you a lie?’

by Spike Milligan

Published by

mrhearne

Poetry, theatre, literature, films, reviews and various other matters.

Leave a Reply

